Watercolour portrait

serena malyon

A self portrait that doesn’t actually look like me. Oh well, it was quick, I did it while waiting for paint to dry on another project. I do like this paper though. Its not actually watercolour paper, but grey bfk rives paper. I think its mainly used for printmaking. I love how the watercolour gets really soft edges and you can blend things without worrying about it looking blocky. Unfortunately you cant work into the paper too much, it pills up. But for quick portraits it’s really nice.

The only colours I used were prussian blue, quinacridone gold and cad red med. This is one of my only portraits I’ve done in watercolour without drawing the face in pencil first. Its a bit of a change, I found myself having to go back and correct a lot of things as I worked, but it was pretty cool how spontaneous the painting felt. I might do some more with different colour schemes as I keep working on my big project. This one only took about half an hour and kind of refreshed my mind.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

