FFWD’s Winter Activities

Last week I was commissioned to do a cover and spot illustration for the Calgary publication FFWD Weekly. Its for their winter activities issue, where they talk about all sorts of fun, snowy things to do in the Calgary area. This cover took me a while to come up with, I kept getting stuck on bad, boring ideas. Finally during a long bus ride (the best time to think) I thought this up and sketched it out. Overall, it turned out better than I thought it could, I really like it! Fun fact, the man in the picture is inspired by my boyfriend Nathan Swayze. Yes, he does have an amazing beard.

serena malyon ffwd weekly cover 2013 winter activities guide calgary

The spot illustration is for an article about different chefs’ favourite comfort foods or something of that nature. The art director said she just needed a simple bowl of soup for the article, so I had fun with that.

serena malyon spot illustration ffwd weekly winter activities guide 2013 calgary

Leave a Reply

