Wanderers

This piece focuses on the relationship between a ship’s navigator and his guide. The gull searches for his flock as a weary sailor looks on, the bird as his skybound companion. Together they fly among the stars, both hoping that the sky will lead them home.

serena malyon illustration art watercolour digital art seagull medieval ship lonesome wanderers

serena malyon illustration art lonesome wanderers  serena malyon illustration art lonesome wanderers  serena malyon illustration art lonesome wanderers

New zodiac illustration for FFWD coming later this week!

 Copyright Serena Malyon 2015

3 thoughts on “Wanderers

    • Hi Kim! Yeah, I paint the whole thing in watercolour, then take it into Photoshop and clean up edges and add little details. I like this method because it takes a lot of the pressure off me when I’m painting traditionally, so I (usually) work quicker knowing I can fix things later. Thanks for sharing this painting on your facebook page by the way, I really appreciate it!

  1. I would have loved to have had a book by you when I was a kid… Heck, I would love to see an illustrated book by you now! Great combination of accessibility, simplicity, and excellent execution.

Leave a Reply

