Button Hill!

Hello lovely people! I can *finally* talk about a project I worked on during the summer/fall! Orca Book Publishers is releasing Button Hill by Michael Bradford, and they asked me to do the cover for it! This is my second ever book cover commission and I had an amazing time working on it!

serena malyon illustration button hill by michael bradford orca book publishers

The book: Button Hill is a pretty awesome work of juvenile fiction. Its about a young boy and his sister who find a strange clock that sends them into another world, called Nightside. I had a great time reading the book, I found it very well paced and original.

serena malyon jacket illustration button hill michael bradford orca book publishers

The illustration: I loved working on this project, as it’s my first commission to really use the style that I use in most of my personal/self promotional work. I felt privileged that I was the first to visually design this world, and I loved squeezing little details from the book into the illustrations. Thank you Orca Books, art director Chantal Gabriell and Michael Bradford!

Button Hill comes out April 2015!

serena malyon illustration button hill michael bradford orca book publishers

 Copyright Serena Malyon 2015

One thought on “Button Hill!

  1. Hi Serena,
    I love the second illustration of Dekker stepping into Nightside through a coffin-like portal – I hadn’t seen this one before but it makes a lot of sense. I am writing a sequel right now – if it’s alright with you I want to try working this visual into the story – it’s very cool. Thanks again!
    Michael

Leave a Reply

